Understanding Rugby

SuperRugby12Rugby football is a style of game that was one of several variations of soccer played at English public schools during the 19th century and developed at Rugby School. Both primary kinds of rugby are rugby union and rugby league. The special rules are very different although both of these types share the same goal of getting the ball over the line to score a go.

Rugby union is both a recreational and professional game, and is reigned by the first grade unions: Wales, Australia, England, France, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa and Argentina. Third and second grade unions comprise America, Japan, Mexico, Namibia, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Samoa, Spain, Tonga, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Fiji, Georgia, Uruguay and Venezuela. Rugby Union is managed by the International Rugby Board (IRB), whose headquarters are in Dublin, Ireland.

It’s the national sport in New Zealand, Wales, Fiji, Samoa, Tonga and Madagascar, and is the most famous type of rugby internationally, together with the seven-a-side sort of the game, called Rugby sevens, having been accepted into the programme of the Olympic Games from Rio de Janeiro in 2016 onwards. There was a chance sevens would be a demonstration sport at the 2012 London Olympics but a lot of sports including sevens were lost.